Thursday, March 10, 2005

Blue Oyster Cult

The band that became Blue Oyster Cult was organized in 1967 at Stony Brook College on Long Island. By 1971, they changed their name to Blue Oyster Cult and released their self-titled debut album the following year. Three albums later, they released Agents of Fortune in 1976. The album contained the single “(Don’t Fear) The Reaper” which was their first to break into the Billboard charts when it reached number 12 on Billboard’s Pop Singles chart. The first Cult song I ever heard appeared on this album and it's the one I'm featuring for download today. Oh and it's not that Reaper song.

For the last 30 plus years, Blue Oyster Cult has been following their own unique path. Their motto “On Tour Forever” still holds, as the band plays over 100 dates per year. The group has often collaborated with science fiction writers like Michael Moorcock and Eric Van Lustbader on writing songs and the band's logo is the ancient symbol of Cronos, the Titan god who ate his son the Grim Reaper.
Blue Oyster Cult has released more than 25 albums and has had their music appear in numerous films and video games. Current members include Eric Bloom (vocals), Buck Dharma (guitar), Allen Lanier (keyboards, guitar), Danny Miranda (bass) and Bobby Rondinelli (drums). Now for the tune.

Sinful Love by Blue Oyster Cult

Having seen them in concert numerous times, their live shows have always been a hundred times better than their studio albums. I especially recommend On Your Feet or on Your Knees a live album released in the early 70's and Extraterrestrial Live which came out in 1982. The BOC website also has 2 mp3's on this page for free download from their last live album released in 2002.